Request (replace search)

Support for PhpBB3. Post here to get help with any phpBB3 related issue here
There is no support here! Only Read Access!
Forum rules
In order the get any support, you will have to do following:
1. Use a describing title!
2. Describe your problem and what happened when the problem occured
3. Tell us what version of phpBB3 you are currently using.
Else your topic may be ignored or locked!
User avatar
Makis
BBCoder III
BBCoder III
Posts: 91
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 18:01
BBCodes: 67
Favourite MOD: Welcome On Index
Location: Athens Greece

Request (replace search)

Post by Makis »

Image
User avatar
Oliver
BBCoder III
BBCoder III
Posts: 120
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 11:55

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by Oliver »

Remove it from the previous code, and there will put what you want the search box ;)

Code: Select all

    <!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
		<div class="search-box">
            <form action="{U_SEARCH}" method="post" id="search">
			<fieldset>
                <input name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" maxlength="128" title="{L_SEARCH_KEYWORDS}" class="inputbox search tiny" value="<!-- IF SEARCH_WORDS-->{SEARCH_WORDS}<!-- ELSE -->{L_SEARCH_MINI}<!-- ENDIF -->" onclick="if(this.value=='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}';" />
                <input class="button2" value="{L_SEARCH}" type="submit" /><br />
			</fieldset>
			</form>
		</div>
	<!-- ENDIF -->
User avatar
Oliver
BBCoder III
BBCoder III
Posts: 120
Joined: 07 Mar 2010, 11:55

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by Oliver »

But what that point is? I do not get uploaded the code to the point along the line before that the font magnifier key.
User avatar
Makis
BBCoder III
BBCoder III
Posts: 91
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 18:01
BBCodes: 67
Favourite MOD: Welcome On Index
Location: Athens Greece

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by Makis »

There is and the (Advanced search) thing
It can’t be done, probably I can’t do it

Thanks
cisco007
BBCoder VI
BBCoder VI
Posts: 1015
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 18:14
Location: Don't really know!

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by cisco007 »

haven't really tried this but to put the search box near the font size is......
open overall_header.html

find:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
        			<div id="search-box">
        				<form action="{U_SEARCH}" method="post" id="search">
        				<fieldset>
        					<input name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" maxlength="128" title="{L_SEARCH_KEYWORDS}" class="inputbox search" value="<!-- IF SEARCH_WORDS-->{SEARCH_WORDS}<!-- ELSE -->{L_SEARCH_MINI}<!-- ENDIF -->" onclick="if(this.value=='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}';" /> 
        					<input class="button2" value="{L_SEARCH}" type="submit" /><br />
        					<a href="{U_SEARCH}" title="{L_SEARCH_ADV_EXPLAIN}">{L_SEARCH_ADV}</a> {S_SEARCH_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
        				</fieldset>
        				</form>
        			</div>
        		<!-- ENDIF -->
delete!

now find!

Code: Select all

<!-- IF U_PRINT_PM --><li class="rightside"><a href="{U_PRINT_PM}" title="{L_PRINT_PM}" accesskey="p" class="print">{L_PRINT_PM}</a></li><!-- ENDIF --> 
after add:

Code: Select all

<!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
		<li class="rightside"><div class="search-box">
			<form action="{U_SEARCH}" method="post" id="search">
        				<fieldset>
				<input class="inputbox search tiny" name="keywords" id="search_keywords" size="20" value=<!-- IF SEARCH_WORDS-->{SEARCH_WORDS}<!-- ELSE -->{L_SEARCH_MINI}<!-- ENDIF -->" onclick="if(this.value=='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}';" />
				<input class="button2" value="Search" type="submit">
			</fieldset>
			</form>
		</div></li>
<!-- ENDIF -->
see what that looks like!
User avatar
Makis
BBCoder III
BBCoder III
Posts: 91
Joined: 10 Mar 2010, 18:01
BBCodes: 67
Favourite MOD: Welcome On Index
Location: Athens Greece

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by Makis »

First of all thank you
The placement is ok

We have to issues here
1. Word (search) remains when I click inside, I have to delete them to write.
2. Lost the (link words) Advanced search

Thanks again
User avatar
IpHeX
BBCoder II
BBCoder II
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 21:02

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by IpHeX »

Style I am using:
[3.0.7] SE Square Left.


I have added this Menu:
<div class="headerbarmenu"><a href="{U_INDEX}"><span>{L_INDEX}</span></a><a href="{U_FAQ}"><span>{L_FAQ}</span></a><!-- IF U_ACP --><a href="{U_ACP}"><span>ACP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF U_MCP --><a href="{U_MCP}"><span>MCP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --></div>
My Question:
How can I move the search from right side of the banner to right side of headerbarmenu?

Image

I greatly appreciate your time and help. :)
User avatar
IpHeX
BBCoder II
BBCoder II
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 21:02

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by IpHeX »

IpHeX » 27 Mar 2010, 02:22 wrote:Style I am using:
[3.0.7] SE Square Left.


I have added this Menu:
<div class="headerbarmenu"><a href="{U_INDEX}"><span>{L_INDEX}</span></a><a href="{U_FAQ}"><span>{L_FAQ}</span></a><!-- IF U_ACP --><a href="{U_ACP}"><span>ACP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF U_MCP --><a href="{U_MCP}"><span>MCP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --></div>
My Question:
How can I move the search from right side of the banner to right side of headerbarmenu?

Image

I greatly appreciate your time and help. :)
I have have managed to do it myself now, It took me a few hours as I am very new at phpbb3 with no editing experience.
cisco007
BBCoder VI
BBCoder VI
Posts: 1015
Joined: 16 Mar 2010, 18:14
Location: Don't really know!

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by cisco007 »

i really haven't answered this because i have not had time to experiment on this, but if you got it could you post up a screenshot of how it looks!?
User avatar
IpHeX
BBCoder II
BBCoder II
Posts: 23
Joined: 23 Mar 2010, 21:02

Re: Request (replace search)

Post by IpHeX »

Screenie:

Image


Not sure if this was the correct way but here is how I did it.

Open Styles/se_square_left/template/overall_header.html

find and delete:

Code: Select all

    <!-- IF S_DISPLAY_SEARCH and not S_IN_SEARCH -->
                     <div id="search-box">
                        <form action="{U_SEARCH}" method="post" id="search">
                        <fieldset>
                           <input name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" maxlength="128" title="{L_SEARCH_KEYWORDS}" class="inputbox search" value="<!-- IF SEARCH_WORDS-->{SEARCH_WORDS}<!-- ELSE -->{L_SEARCH_MINI}<!-- ENDIF -->" onclick="if(this.value=='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='{LA_SEARCH_MINI}';" />
                           <input class="button2" value="{L_SEARCH}" type="submit" /><br />
                           <a href="{U_SEARCH}" title="{L_SEARCH_ADV_EXPLAIN}">{L_SEARCH_ADV}</a> {S_SEARCH_HIDDEN_FIELDS}
                        </fieldset>
                        </form>
                     </div>
                  <!-- ENDIF -->

Find:

Code: Select all

<div class="headerbarmenu"><a href="{U_INDEX}"><span>{L_INDEX}</span></a><a href="{U_FAQ}"><span>{L_FAQ}</span></a><!-- IF U_ACP --><a href="{U_ACP}"><span>ACP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --><!-- IF U_MCP --><a href="{U_MCP}"><span>MCP</span></a><!-- ENDIF --></div>
Add before:

Code: Select all

<form action="./search.php" method="post" id="search" style="float:right; padding-right:4px;">
				<div>

					<input style="font-size:1.1em;" class="inputbox search tiny" name="keywords" id="keywords" type="text" size="25" title="Search for keywords" value="Search&#8230;" onclick="if(this.value=='Search&#8230;')this.value='';" onblur="if(this.value=='')this.value='Search&#8230;';" /> 
				</div>
</form>
Locked